martes, 13 de octubre de 2020


WHO:  A total of 25 music teachers from 24 cities across 16 states, have been announced as semifinalists for the Music Educator Award™ presented by the Recording Academy® and GRAMMY Museum®. In total, more than 1,989 initial nominations were submitted from all 50 states. Nominations for the 2022 Music Educator Award are now open at
Name       School         City           State
Bonnie Anderson   Miller's Point Elementary School    San Antonio    Texas
Justin Antos           Dwight D. Eisenhower High School  Frankfort        Ill.
Elizabeth Bennett    Buffalo Grove High School             Libertyville       Ill.
Angela Carpenter    Harrington Elementary School        Bedford          Mass.
Stephen Cox           Eastland High School                      Eastland         Texas
Pamela Dawson       DeSoto High School                      DeSoto            Texas
Brad Drinkwater        Connetquot High School               Nesconset       N.Y.
Paul Eaton                Girard College                               Lafayette Hill    Pa.
Michelle Folta            Columbus State University           Columbus         Ga.
Amanda Hanzlik        Edwin O. Smith High School        Storrs               Conn.
Elizabeth Hering        Churchill High School                    Livonia             Mi.
Graham Johnson      Washington Heights Expeditionary Learning School (WHEELS)                                                                      New York          N.Y.
Chris Maunu              Arvada West High School              Arvada            Colo.
Richard Maxwell       Arcadia High School                        Phoenix           Ariz.
Brian McMath          Northwest Guilford High School      Greensboro      N.C.
Shawna Mendez      The Manning School of Academics and Arts
                                                                                       Lakewood           Colo.
Patricia Moore         Canyon View Elementary School      Tucson            Ariz.
Ryan Muir                South Kingstown High School           Wakefield        R.I.
Jeffrey Murdock      The University of Arkansas               Fayetteville        Ark.
Blake Richter         Nixa Junior High School                     Nixa                   Mo.
Kimberly Ritzer       Green Valley High School                 Henderson         Nev.
Lynne Ruda              Lancaster High School                     Lancaster          N.Y.
Matthew Trevino        Roan Forest Elementary                 San Antonio      Texas
Donald Walter    Northwest Guilford Middle School and Northwest Guilford High School                                                                              Oak Ridge         N.C.
Tracy Williamson      Gorham Middle School                 Gorham               Maine
WHAT:  The Music Educator Award recognizes current educators who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in the schools. The recipient will be recognized during GRAMMY® Week 2021.
The award is open to current U.S. music teachers, and anyone can nominate a teacher — students, parents, friends, colleagues, community members, school deans, and administrators.
Teachers are also able to nominate themselves, and nominated teachers are notified and invited to fill out an application.
Each year, one recipient is selected from 10 finalists and recognized for their remarkable impact on students' lives. They will receive a $10,000 honorarium and matching grant for their school’s music program. The nine additional finalists will receive a $1,000 honorarium and matching grants. The remaining fifteen semifinalists will receive a $500 honorarium with matching school grants.
The matching grants provided to the schools are made possible by the generosity and support of the GRAMMY Museum’s Education Champion Ford Motor Company Fund. In addition, the American Choral Directors Association, National Association for Music Education, NAMM Foundation, and National Education Association support this program through outreach to their constituencies.
The finalists will be announced in December. For more information, please visit

Established in 2008, the GRAMMY Museum is a nonprofit organization dedicated to cultivating a greater understanding of the history and significance of music through exhibits, education, grants, preservation initiatives, and public programming. Paying tribute to our collective musical heritage, the Museum explores and celebrates all aspects of the art form — from the technology of the recording process to the legends who've made lasting marks on our cultural identity.
For more information, visit, "like" the GRAMMY Museum on Facebook, and follow @GRAMMYMuseum on Twitter and Instagram.
The Recording Academy represents the voices of performers, songwriters, producers, engineers, and all music professionals. Dedicated to ensuring the recording arts remain a thriving part of our shared cultural heritage, the Academy honors music's history while investing in its future through the GRAMMY Museum, advocates on behalf of music creators, supports music people in times of need through MusiCares®, and celebrates artistic
excellence through the GRAMMY Awards — music's only peer-recognized accolade and highest achievement. As the world's leading society of music professionals, we work year-round to foster a more inspiring world for creators.
For more information about the Academy, please visit For breaking news and exclusive content, follow @RecordingAcad on Twitter, "like" Recording Academy on Facebook, and join the Recording Academy's social communities on Instagram, Tumblr, and YouTube

As the philanthropic arm of Ford Motor Company, Ford Fund’s mission is to strengthen communities and help make people’s lives better. Working with dealers and nonprofit partners in more than 60 countries, Ford Fund provides access to opportunities and resources that help people reach their full potential. Since 1949, Ford Fund has invested more than $2 billion in programs that support education, promote safe driving, enrich community life and encourage employee volunteering. For more information, visit or join us at @FordFund on Facebook and Twitter.


No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario